Select Page


Audio Books




Contact Us

Sarah Kennedy

Authors on Characters

Penmore Press authors offer a rich and entertaining array of short reflections on characters and how they were created in the novels.  READ

Order directly from Penmore Press to receive your bulk purchase discount. ORDER

Sarah Kennedy

Filling the Gaps in Women’s History —   Sarah Kennedy was born in Indianapolis, Indiana, and lived in the Midwest until her early thirties, when she moved to Virginia to take a teaching position at a small liberal-arts college. With a Ph.D. in Renaissance poetry, she expected to spend her time as a scholar, but she soon discovered that the urge to write creatively was too strong to ignore—and writing countless academic articles too boring. After a great deal of soul-searching, Sarah returned to school at Vermont College, completed an M.F.A. in Poetry Writing, and accepted a position at Mary Baldwin University, where she currently teaches both literature and creative writing.

Although Sarah’s writing began with poetry, she found, after a summer spent in Aberystwyth, Wales, that her writing was taking a distinctively narrative turn. Her writing subjects changed, from the personal and lyrical to historical figures. Sarah has also had a long-standing interest in the history of faith and belief systems, and religious figures from the English mystic Julian of Norwich to the Irish “changeling” Bridget Boland also showed up in her poems. For this work, she was awarded an NEA grant and a Virginia Commission for the Arts fellowship, as well as an NEH grant to study the performance of Shakespeare’s plays at the Globe Theatre in London.

Seven books of poetry later, Sarah brought her knowledge of religious and cultural events in Tudor England and her poetic skills in description to fiction. Her lines finally made it to the right-hand margin, and she began to write novels. The first, The Altarpiece, features a young novice, Catherine Havens, who finds herself and her life threatened by Henry VIII’s break from Rome, and the series follows Catherine as she struggles with the upheavals and new opportunities of the English Reformation. Everything has now come together, and in The Cross and the Crown series, Sarah brings sixteenth-century England to life.

Sarah Kennedy lives with her husband, the poet R. T. Smith, in rural Rockbridge County, Virginia, a few miles from Lexington. When she’s not researching, teaching, or working on her next book, Sarah spends her time fulfilling the desires of their spoiled hound dog Gypsy. She also gardens and watches the birds—and sometimes bears—that visit their yard.

City of Ladies by Sarah Kennedy

Order Now!

City of Ladies

The Cross and The Crown Book 2. It’s midwinter in 1539, and Catherine Havens Overton has just given birth to her second child, a daughter. The convent in which she was raised is now part of the Overton lands, and Catherine’s husband William owns the properties that once belonged to her mother’s family. With a son, Robert, and her new daughter, Veronica, Catherine’s life as the mistress of a great household should be complete.
Henry VIII’s England has not been kind to many of the evicted members of religious houses, and Catherine has gathered about her a group of former nuns in hopes of providing them a chance to serve in the village of Havenston, her City of Ladies.
Catherine’s own past haunts her. Her husband suspects that Catherine’s son is not his child, and his ambitions lie with service at court. Then the women of Overton House begin to disappear, and though one of them is found brutally murdered nearby, William forces Catherine to go to Hatfield House, where the young Elizabeth Tudor lives, to improve the family’s standing—and to ensure, for her own safety, that she is as far away from connections to her old convent as possible.
Reluctantly, Catherine obeys, only to find herself serving not only the Protestant Elizabeth but also the shamed Catholic Mary Tudor. As the murders in Yorkshire mount up and her loyalty to the Tudor sisters grows more complicated, Catherine must uncover the secret of the killer and keep her dream of a City of Ladies alive.

The Altarpiece by Sarah Kennedy

 Order Now!

The Altarpiece

The Cross and The Crown Book 1.  It is 1535, and in the tumultuous years of King Henry VIII’s break from Rome, the religious houses of England are being seized by force. Twenty-year-old Catherine Havens is a foundling and the adopted daughter of the prioress of the Priory of Mount Grace in a small Yorkshire village. Catherine, like her adoptive mother, has a gift for healing, and she is widely sought and admired for her knowledge. However, the king’s divorce dashes Catherine’s hopes for a place at court, and she reluctantly takes the veil. When the priory’s costly altarpiece goes missing, Catherine and her friend Ann Smith find themselves under increased suspicion. King Henry VIII’s soldiers have not had their fill of destruction, and when they return to Mount Grace to destroy the priory, Catherine must choose between the sacred calling of her past and the man who may represent her country’s future.

“The historical record is rarely a democratic one. Infrequently do the voices of those deemed subservient by and to the ruling elites speak from the past…Yet, in her meticulously researched, deftly written, and effectively plotted novel, The Altarpiece—the first book of The Cross and the Crown series—Sarah Kennedy gives both voice and echo to the women at the Priory of Mount Grace in Yorkshire, England.” — Southern Humanities Review

Sales & Rights

Bookseller & Retail Orders
Subsidiary Rights
Media Rights
Content Development

Terms of Use
About Us

Company Profile
Leadership Team
Our Catalog

Publish With Us
Penmore Press

Penmore Press US
Press Room
Publicity Contacts
Bulk Sales
Customer Service